Posted by on August 13, 2013 in single witch's survival guide | 2 comments

About five years ago, Magic and the Modern Girl hit stores, in print and in ebook versions.  The story was the third volume in my Jane Madison trilogy, and it neatly wrapped up Jane’s story, tying everything together with a pretty bow.

Or so I thought.

Over the years, I’ve received hundreds (thousands?) of emails, asking me what happens next?  What happens when Jane and David finally get together?  What happens when Jane opens her school for witches?  What happens to Neko, and to Melissa, and to Gran, and to Clara?

At first, I said, “Nothing.  Their stories are done.”

But then, I realized there was a lot more to tell there.  There were a lot more adventures to be had.  And the best thing was, they were about a totally new chapter in Jane Madison’s life, so they could be written in such a way that readers could jump in — then and there — without having read the first three books.

And so, the Jane Madison Academy Series was born.  SINGLE WITCH’S SURVIVAL GUIDE started to percolate in my thoughts.  I added details to my notes, whenever I got a chance.  And suddenly, surprisingly, I discovered the bones of a really good novel.  A great (if I do say so myself…) novel.

I’m a little ashamed by how much I love this book.  I love the way the characters have grown.  How they’ve changed.  How they’ve matured.

I’m thrilled to share this new book with you.  I hope you come to love it as much as I do!

You can read the first chapter here:

And you can buy a copy, in print or in ebook, here:

Mindy, bounce, bounce, bouncing!


  1. This is great! I was just checking B&N for you a couple of weeks ago. Must have been my intuition…

    • ::grin:: See? You had the power to make it so!