Joy of Witchcraft — In Stores Today!

Posted by on August 4, 2015 in girl's guide to witchcraft, jane madison series, joy of witchcraft, magic and the modern girl, sorcery and the single girl | 4 comments

It’s finally here! The first new Jane Madison novel in two years!  Joy of Witchcraft is in stores today! (Along with Author’s Preferred Editions of the first three books in the series.)

Everyone’s favorite librarian-witch, Jane Madison, is back at work, running a school for witches. Alas, nothing is going quite the way she planned (but what’s new about that?!?) Here’s what it says on the back of the book:

Sometimes a thunderstorm is just a thunderstorm. But not this time.

Jane Madison’s school for witches is in session, and the first order of business is an intricate Samhain ritual. Alas, in the midst of a sudden, unseasonable deluge, a classic Greek monster is released into the magic circle.  Jane succeeds in vanquishing the beast, but only with the assistance of her sworn enemy, the Coven Mother of Washington DC.

Crisis averted, Jane would be perfectly happy to plan her wedding to her astral protector, David Montrose. But how can she look at seating charts when she’s under attack by more monsters, the Coven Mother, and the highest law in the witchy land, Hecate’s Court?

All these disasters can’t be coincidence. One of Jane’s students must be a traitor. But will Jane find the turncoat before she loses everything—and everyone—she holds dear?

You can read Joy of Witchcraft, even if you’ve never read any other Jane Madison novel.

Buy Joy of Witchcraft today! (Amazon Kindle | Apple iBooks | Book View Cafe | CreateSpace Print | Google Play | Kobo | Smashwords) (More links will be coming — most print editions and Nook are being delayed by the vendors; however, I hope to have the problem worked out in very short order!)

Writing Joy of Witchcraft gave me a chance to go back to the first three Jane Madison novels and refresh them, in ways  I’ve been longing to do for almost ten years. The result is an Author’s Preferred Edition of Girl’s Guide to Witchcraft, Sorcery and the Single Girl, and Magic and the Modern Girl.

Jane Madison Series, Volumes 1-3What makes the editions preferred? Lots of things, including:

  • Updating every page to include contemporary references to real-life places, people, and things.  (No more flip-phones for Jane!)
  • Tweaking of characters to be more true to personalities in the more recent books.  (Neko, in particular, is less stereotypically gay and more…Neko!)
  • Modifications to make the magic consistent across all books in the series. (The education system for witches, in particular, is more uniform!)
  • Minor grammar and usage modifications.

Is the Author’s Preferred Edition worth your spending extra money, replacing books you already own? Only you can answer that question. But here’s a no-cost way to find out: Girl’s Guide to Witchcraft is available as a free e-book! (Amazon Kindle | Apple iBooks | B&N Nook | Google Play | Kobo | Smashwords).

Download it. Read it. See if you can detect any differences. If you can’t recognize the changes, then great! You’re done with decision-making! If you recognize the changes and you like them, then you’ll have to decide whether to spend $2.99 each for Sorcery (Amazon Kindle | Apple iBooks | B&N Nook | Google Play | Kobo | Smashwords) and Magic (Amazon Kindle | Apple iBooks | B&N Nook | Google Play | Kobo | Smashwords).  Print versions of all three books will also be updated within the next couple of weeks, as the vendors make new stock available in their stores.

I’m thrilled to be sharing Jane with you again. I hope you enjoy the new offerings!


  1. Excited for the new book. I own the original 3 books with the old covers… and they are well-loved!. They don’t really match the new ones though, which is a bummer!

    • Alas, my publisher changed between the first three books and the two most recent ones. There *are* covers that match SINGLE WITCH and JOY; however, that would mean rebuying your first three — which I understand is a costly way to make books match!

      Thanks for sticking with the series!

  2. Is the three-book omnibus old or new? Smashwords isn’t giving me details.
    Also, YAY NEW JANE!!!!

    • The three-book omnibus contains the Author’s Preferred Edition of each title. (And shame on Smashwords. *I* have told it the truth, so it should share that information with you!

      Off to try to talk some sense into them!