The C Word in Stores Today!

The C Word in Stores Today!

We authors aren’t supposed to have favorites among our books. Like parents, we’re supposed to say that we love all of our creations equally. We’re suppose to shy away from direct answers and say that our favorite is the book we’re currently writing.

The C Word by Mindy Klasky

But I’ve got a secret to share: The C Word is my favorite.

I love how the story came to me after a long dry spell, when I feared that I wasn’t going to come up with an original story ever again. I love how the words flowed during the second half of 2020, after months of coronavirus-induced non-writing, when I spent day after day after day fiddling with administrative details instead of putting down new words. I love the characters—how Katie McIntyre is sassy in a way that I never am, how Jason Price covers up his emotions with easy actions until he can’t avoid the weight of those feelings for one more second.

Most of all, though, I love how The C Word is a positive, feel-good book, even though—or, maybe, especially because—it’s set during the pandemic. Sure, the coronavirus makes my characters work a little harder for their Happy Ever After. But success means more when it’s hard-won.

The C Word is available for sale today, as an ebook at all your favorite online vendors and as a print book at Amazon and Barnes & Noble. If you want to buy a print copy at your local bricks-and-mortar store, ask them to order it. (You’ll make it easier for them if you tell them that the ISBN—that’s the International Standard Book Number—is 978-1-95018-439-2.)

Here’s the back-of-the-book blurb:

When a one-night stand, a fake relationship, and a demonic cat aren’t enough of a challenge—just add a pandemic.

 

Sportswriter Katie McIntyre thinks star pitcher Jason Price will be the perfect fling to help her forget her cheating ex. Their hook-up is supposed to end with breakfast.

 

But the coronavirus has other plans.

 

Katie unexpectedly becomes her grandmother’s full-time caretaker. When the disoriented elderly woman thinks Jason is Katie’s devoted beau, Katie pitches a pretend relationship to the star athlete. Jason knocks the fake-boyfriend ball out of the park.

 

Soon, their increasingly real alliance is tested by disastrous cooking, adult-themed donuts, and a hairless, irascible cat. And COVID quarantine inevitably magnifies one small secret (Katie’s) and one tiny lie (Jason’s.) The harder this pair falls, the greater the risk of those hidden truths.

 

If your heartstrings have been tugged by the feel-good rom-coms Beach Read, Well Met, or The Friend Zone, then pull up a chair, because The C Word is the perfect romantic comedy escape for you.

 What are you waiting for? Read the first chapter and buy your copy today!

Kindle Buy Button
Apple Buy Button
Nook Buy Button
Kobo Buy Button
Google Buy Button
Buy From Mindy
Amazon Buy Button
Barnes and Noble Buy Button
The Woman Who Lied Available in Stores!

The Woman Who Lied Available in Stores!

A couple of years ago, I was driving home from a writing retreat in a Pennsylvania state park. I’d left the cabin early, because I had a 10:00 meeting back home. The winter-fallow Pennsylvania fields were covered with frost, and an overcast sky looked like steel.

As I drove, I thought about my retreat-mate, who was still sleeping in her room when I left. In one of those authorial flights of fancy, those thoughts that flash so quickly you can’t really be sure you didn’t dream the entire thing, I imagined getting a phone call from the park rangers, asking me to turn in the cabin key. When I told them my retreat-mate was supposed to have done that, they told me they had no record of my fellow writer. Further investigation revealed that she was missing, as if she’d never joined me for a week of frantic writing.

None of that happened, of course. My retreat-mate woke up a couple of hours after I did, and she made her way home without any untoward event.

But I started thinking. I started plotting. I started putting together the novel that eventually became The Woman Who Lied. And today, that book is available for you to read, as an ebook and a print book!

(Don’t worry. No actual authors were harmed in the making of this novel.)

What’s it all about? Here’s the back-of-the-book blurb:

 

The Woman Who Lied by Mindy Klasky

Here’s the back-of-the-book blurb:

What would make you mad enough to kill?

Jess Fox breaks the rules. She’s a self-published author of wildly popular erotica, writing exactly what she knows. Her frank words make rough men blush. She sleeps with any person she desires. She’s been powerless before, and she’ll do anything not to feel that way again.

Now she longs to be accepted as a legitimate author. And when she meets Rachel Hanley, an international bestselling novelist, she recognizes her meal ticket. Rachel’s tense thrillers are popular enough to support her entire hometown, but she’s recovering from a traumatic brain injury and she needs help.

Jess sees a chance for control. She becomes Rachel’s intern, caregiver, and writing partner. Both women go on a writing retreat at a remote forest cabin. Soon, one of them is dead, floating at the foot of a waterfall.

But which woman died?

And which woman lied?

If you can’t get enough of psychological thrillers by Gillian Flynn, A.J. Finn, or Ruth Ware, then step inside Jess’s mind and get ready to bargain for your life.

Kindle Buy Button
Apple Buy Button
Nook Buy Button
Kobo Buy Button
Google Buy Button
Buy From Mindy
Amazon Buy Button
Barnes and Noble Buy Button
The Woman Who Lied Available for Pre-Order

The Woman Who Lied Available for Pre-Order

Bounce, bounce, bounce!

My first new release in over a year is The Woman Who Lied, a psychological thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Woman in the Window. It’s a bit of a departure for me—it’s dark and gritty and it uses a lot of naughty words.

The Woman Who Lied by Mindy Klasky

Here’s the back-of-the-book blurb:

What would make you mad enough to kill?

Jess Fox breaks the rules. She’s a self-published author of wildly popular erotica, writing exactly what she knows. Her frank words make rough men blush. She sleeps with any person she desires. She’s been powerless before, and she’ll do anything not to feel that way again.

Now she longs to be accepted as a legitimate author. And when she meets Rachel Hanley, an international bestselling novelist, she recognizes her meal ticket. Rachel’s tense thrillers are popular enough to support her entire hometown, but she’s recovering from a traumatic brain injury and she needs help.

Jess sees a chance for control. She becomes Rachel’s intern, caregiver, and writing partner. Both women go on a writing retreat at a remote forest cabin. Soon, one of them is dead, floating at the foot of a waterfall.

But which woman died?

And which woman lied?

The book officially goes on sale on January 12, 2021. You can read the first two chapters here. You can buy your ebook copy right here, on my website, today (yes, before the official release!) Or you can pre-order your ebook from your favorite vendor so that it arrives on your e-reader bright and early on January 12. (You can buy the print book today from Amazon; it’ll be available at other vendors, um, soon.)

Ready for Some True Love Classics?

Ready for Some True Love Classics?

Okay—this is going to shock you. Brace yourself. Seriously. I’m about to share a secret:

Romance novels sometimes get short shrift from readers, critics, and other taste-makers in the literary world.

The Mogul's Unexpected Baby by Mindy Klasky

I know! That’s shocking, isn’t it!

There are lots of theories about why romances get such a bad name. Many are character-driven books, instead of plot-driven books. Many rely on tropes, a sort of shortcut to instant reader gratification. Most are written by women, for women, and about women. 

But I think romances have a special place in these crazy coronadays. They’re books where I know I’ll find a happy ending.

And I’m not the only one who feels that way about escaping into fun, easy-to-read books. I’ve teamed up with some other romance authors to release a whole passel of True Love Classics.

Each of us writers is a USA Today bestselling author.

Each of our books was previously published, most by the traditional romance powerhouse, Harlequin.

So are you willing to take a chance? Are you ready to find true love (at least for the amount of time it takes you to read a True Love Classic?)

Treat yourself today! Check out the list of all our TLC contemporary romances.

And as a special bonus—these books are absolutely free in Kindle Unlimited. (They’re reasonably priced for readers who haven’t joined that all-you-can-read program.)

Ready? Set… Read!

Season of Sacrifice is Back!

Season of Sacrifice is Back!

Here’s a standard piece of advice I offer to writers who hope to sell their novel to a traditional publisher: After you submit your work, get started on a new book, wholly unrelated to the submitted one. That way, if the first book sells, you have a second book to offer the publisher, in very short order. And if the first book doesn’t sell, you have a new book to present to potential publishers without the burden of the one that didn’t make it.

Season of Sacrifice by Mindy Klasky

When I started out, I followed my own advice. Through my agent, I submitted The Glasswrights’ Apprentice. And then, I started writing a completely different fantasy novel, set in an all-new world, with all-new characters, facing an all-new challenge.

When Apprentice sold, the contract was for Apprentice, a sequel (which ended up being The Glasswrights’ Progress), and a book to be named later. That book—the one I’d written during the waiting period—was Season of Sacrifice.

I’ve always loved Sacrifice. It has an unwilling priestess who serves an ancient tree, young twins who are kidnapped from the only home they’ve ever known, and a reluctant rescuer who questions his own ability to succeed. The magic in this fantasy world is far more apparent than the magic hidden in the Lost Guild books.

But I’ll be honest with you—Sacrifice never found its rabid fans. It came out in the middle of the Lost Guild series, which confused and disappointed some readers. It was released in January, a month that’s notoriously bad for book sales. It had a cover that featured the heroine in a leather bikini…and the less said about that, the better.

But Season of Sacrifice is back.

You can read the first chapter on my website, for free. In fact, if you’re a member of Kindle Unlimited, you can read the entire book for free! (And if you don’t read on a Kindle, you can still get the book for your own device.)

So? What are you waiting for?

Buy Season of Sacrifice today!